WRWC 2021

England expect, NZ resist as fuse lit at World Cup

England expect, NZ resist as fuse lit at World Cup
Abbie Ward of England is tackled by Ffion Lewis of Wales during the TikTok Women's Six Nations match between England and Wales at Kingsholm Stadium on 9 April, 2022 in Gloucester, England. (Photo: Alex Burstow/Getty Images)

The Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 kicks off in New Zealand on Saturday.

The exponential growth in the profile of women’s sport means there is a heavyweight of expectation about what the ninth Rugby World Cup can deliver when it kicks off in front of a record crowd in New Zealand this weekend.

On the pitch, England expect to formalise the power shift from the southern to northern hemispheres with their third title, even if reigning champions New Zealand can be anticipated to offer stiff resistance in their own backyard.

They both kick off their tournaments in what could be a sell-out triple-header at Auckland’s Eden Park on Saturday — England against World Cup newcomers Fiji and New Zealand against neighbours Australia.

As well as attracting once unimaginable crowds, World Rugby is hoping the 8 October – 12 November tournament, which was delayed for a year because of the Covid-19 pandemic, will prove to be a catalyst for the 15-women game.

“This tournament will light the fuse for what will be a golden decade of opportunity, certainty and growth for women’s Test rugby,” World Rugby chief executive Alan Gilpin said at the tournament launch on Monday.

Women's Rugby World Cup

Portia Woodman of the Black Ferns celebrates after scoring a try with Stacey Fluhler and Ruby Tui of the Black Ferns during the International Women’s Test match between the New Zealand Black Ferns and Japan at Eden Park on 24 September, 2022 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo: Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

“The time is now. Our vision is a sport where … visibility in the women’s game matches the men’s game, where targeted investment leads to transformational change and where we have strong and sustainable competition and growth plans.”

There are challenges, however, not least the unfriendly match timings the first World Cup in the southern hemisphere presents for the huge potential television audiences above the equator.

There are also concerns that the tournament may expose the lack of depth in the women’s game with England, and to a lesser extent New Zealand and France, a clear cut above the other nine sides.

All 12 teams will at least have the space to be at their best, however, with the tournament period extended to allow a full week turnaround between matches.

Visit Daily Maverick’s home page for more news, analysis and investigations

England will start as big favourites on the back of their 25-match winning streak over the last three years, which includes 56-15 and 43-12 victories over New Zealand’s Black Ferns late last year.

Potent weapon

The power game the Red Roses have built under coach Simon Middleton has laid waste to all-comers and they have made the rolling maul, probably the hardest manoeuvre to defend in the modern game, into a potent weapon.

France have come closest to challenging England with their own forward-dominated game, and also thrashed New Zealand twice last year, but slipped to fourth in the world behind Canada after losing to an improving Italy last month.

The Black Ferns have long been the dominant side in women’s rugby — winning five of the seven World Cups they have taken part in — but New Zealand’s prolonged isolation during the pandemic cost them dear.

While England, and to a lesser extent France, accelerated their professional programmes, New Zealand’s top players were stuck in a holding pattern without test rugby for 27 months.

Women's Rugby World Cup

Emily Scarrett of England offloads the ball as Neve Jones tacles during the TikTok Women’s Six Nations match between England and Ireland at Mattioli Woods Welford Road Stadium on 24 April, 2022 in Leicester, England. (Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images)

Since the rude shock of last November’s European tour, however, former All Blacks assistant Wayne Smith has taken over and led the Black Ferns to six wins out of six this year.

The structure of the tournament, particularly the make-up of the quarterfinal fixtures based on seedings, means the Big Three should avoid each other until the semi-finals even though England and France are both in Pool C. 

By that stage, New Zealand could be riding a tidal wave of support from their rugby-mad compatriots after playing for three weeks in front of partisan home crowds.

“It does have a different feeling,” flyhalf Hazel Tubic, a veteran of New Zealand’s 2017 triumph, said on Tuesday.

“In the past week we’ve had people like, ‘Oh gosh, you’re the Black Ferns’ and kids asking us for photos. We’ve never had that before.” Reuters/DM

Factbox on the women’s Rugby World Cup, which takes place in New Zealand

  • The ninth women’s World Cup, the first in the southern hemisphere, was scheduled to take place in 2021 but delayed for a year because of the Covid-19 pandemic.
  • The tournament will open with a triple header at the 50,000-seater Eden Park in Auckland on Saturday. Matches will also take place at Waitakere Stadium (3,000) in the Auckland suburbs and the Northland Events Centre (30,000) in Whangarei some 160 km to the north.
  • Hosts New Zealand are also the defending champions, having beaten England 41-32 in the final of the last World Cup in Dublin five years ago to win their fifth title (1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2017).
  • The United States (1991) and England (1994, 2014) are the other teams to have won the title.
  • England top the world rankings going into the tournament on the back of a 25-match winning streak that has taken in three Six Nations triumphs.
  • The 12 teams have been split into three pools for the opening round, with the top two from each progressing along with the two best third-placed finishers.

Pool A: New Zealand, Australia, Wales, Scotland

Pool B: Canada, United States, Italy, Japan

Pool C: England, France, South Africa, Fiji

  • Teams will be awarded four points for a win and two points for a draw. Bonus points will be awarded for scoring four or more tries in a game and/or for losing by fewer than eight points.
  • The tournament will have quarterfinals for the first time with the fixtures determined by the seeding of the eight teams based on the results in the group stage. The pool winners will be seeds 1 to 3, the second placed teams 4 to 6, the third place teams 7 and 8.
  • Quarterfinals: 1 v 8, 2 v 7, 3 v 6, 4 v 5.
  • Semi-finals: Winner of 1 v 8 takes on winner of 4 v 5.
  • Winner of 2 v 7 takes on winner of 3 v 6.

Comments - Please in order to comment.

Please peer review 3 community comments before your comment can be posted

We would like our readers to start paying for Daily Maverick...

…but we are not going to force you to. Over 10 million users come to us each month for the news. We have not put it behind a paywall because the truth should not be a luxury.

Instead we ask our readers who can afford to contribute, even a small amount each month, to do so.

If you appreciate it and want to see us keep going then please consider contributing whatever you can.

Support Daily Maverick→
Payment options

Daily Maverick Elections Toolbox

Feeling powerless in politics?

Equip yourself with the tools you need for an informed decision this election. Get the Elections Toolbox with shareable party manifesto guide.