First Thing, Daily Maverick's flagship newsletter

Join the 230 000 South Africans who read First Thing newsletter.

We write for you

It’s a public service and we refuse to erect a paywall and force you to pay for truth. Instead, we ask (nicely and often) that those of you who can afford to, become a Maverick Insider and help with whatever you can. In order for truth not to become a thing of the past, we need to keep going.

Currently, 18,000 (or less than 0.3%) of our brave and generous readers are members; which says a lot about their characters and commitment to our country. These people are paying for a free service in order to keep it free for everyone.

They are the true South AfriCANs.(Sorry, we couldn’t help ourselves.)

Support Daily Maverick→
Payment options

Molecule builders win Nobel chemistry prize

Defend Truth

Molecule builders win Nobel chemistry prize

Professors Richard Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki were awarded the Nobel prize for chemistry on Tuesday morning. The three scientists were granted the prize for "palladium-catalysed cross couplings in organic synthesis", or in layman's language, developing new ways of linking carbon atoms together. After the Nobel physics prize went to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov on Tuesday for isolating the graphene, it seems carbon is the in element at this year's awards.  Read more: BBC News


Please peer review 3 community comments before your comment can be posted