First Thing, Daily Maverick's flagship newsletter

Join the 230 000 South Africans who read First Thing newsletter.

We'd like our readers to start paying for Daily Maverick

More specifically, we'd like those who can afford to pay to start paying. What it comes down to is whether or not you value Daily Maverick. Think of us in terms of your daily cappuccino from your favourite coffee shop. It costs around R35. That’s R1,050 per month on frothy milk. Don’t get us wrong, we’re almost exclusively fuelled by coffee. BUT maybe R200 of that R1,050 could go to the journalism that’s fighting for the country?

We don’t dictate how much we’d like our readers to contribute. After all, how much you value our work is subjective (and frankly, every amount helps). At R200, you get it back in Uber Eats and ride vouchers every month, but that’s just a suggestion. A little less than a week’s worth of cappuccinos.

We can't survive on hope and our own determination. Our country is going to be considerably worse off if we don’t have a strong, sustainable news media. If you’re rejigging your budgets, and it comes to choosing between frothy milk and Daily Maverick, we hope you might reconsider that cappuccino.

We need your help. And we’re not ashamed to ask for it.

Our mission is to Defend Truth. Join Maverick Insider.

Support Daily Maverick→
Payment options

South Africa in New Zealand 2022 Scoreboard


SA vs New Zealand Scores

South Africa in New Zealand 2022 Scoreboard

Temba Bavuma of South Africa bats during day two of the First Test Match in the series between New Zealand and South Africa at Hagley Oval on February 18, 2022 in Christchurch, New Zealand. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)
By Reuters
01 Mar 2022 0

Mar 1 (OPTA) - Scoreboard at close of play on the fifth day of 2nd test between New Zealand and South Africa on Monday at Christchurch, New Zealand

South Africa win by 198 runs

South Africa 1st innings
Dean Elgar b Tim Southee 41
Sarel Erwee c Tom Blundell b Matt Henry 108
Aiden Markram c Daryl Mitchell b Neil Wagner 42
Rassie van der Dussen c Daryl Mitchell b Neil Wagner 35
Temba Bavuma b Matt Henry 29
Kyle Verreynne c Tom Latham b Matt Henry 4
Wiaan Mulder c Tom Blundell b Neil Wagner 14
Marco Jansen Not Out 37
Kagiso Rabada c Daryl Mitchell b Neil Wagner 6
Keshav Maharaj c Henry Nicholls b Kyle Jamieson 36
Lutho Sipamla c Tim Southee b Kyle Jamieson 0
Extras 0b 7lb 4nb 0pen 1w 12
Total (133.0 overs) 364 all out
Fall of Wickets : 1-111 Elgar, 2-199 Markram, 3-199 Erwee, 4-257 Bavuma, 5-261 Verreynne, 6-277 van der Dussen, 7-296 Mulder, 8-302 Rabada, 9-364 Maharaj, 10-364 Sipamla

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Tim Southee 32 11 75 1 2.34
Matt Henry 35 10 90 3 2.57
Kyle Jamieson 27 10 74 2 2.74 1w
Colin de Grandhomme 8 3 16 0 2.00 1nb
Neil Wagner 31 10 102 4 3.29 3nb

New Zealand 1st innings
Tom Latham c Kyle Verreynne b Kagiso Rabada 0
Will Young c Kyle Verreynne b Kagiso Rabada 3
Devon Conway c Kyle Verreynne b Marco Jansen 16
Henry Nicholls c Sarel Erwee b Marco Jansen 39
Daryl Mitchell lbw Keshav Maharaj 60
Tom Blundell b Kagiso Rabada 6
Colin de Grandhomme Not Out 120
Kyle Jamieson c Wiaan Mulder b Marco Jansen 13
Tim Southee c Temba Bavuma b Marco Jansen 5
Neil Wagner c Marco Jansen b Kagiso Rabada 21
Matt Henry c Rassie van der Dussen b Kagiso Rabada 0
Extras 0b 6lb 2nb 0pen 2w 10
Total (80.0 overs) 293 all out
Fall of Wickets : 1-4 Latham, 2-9 Young, 3-51 Conway, 4-83 Nicholls, 5-91 Blundell, 6-224 Mitchell, 7-249 Jamieson, 8-255 Southee, 9-293 Wagner, 10-293 Henry

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Kagiso Rabada 19 3 60 5 3.16
Marco Jansen 22 2 98 4 4.45 1nb
Lutho Sipamla 16 4 49 0 3.06 1w
Wiaan Mulder 7 2 34 0 4.86 1nb
Keshav Maharaj 16 2 46 1 2.88

South Africa 2nd innings
Sarel Erwee lbw Tim Southee 8
Dean Elgar c Tom Blundell b Tim Southee 13
Aiden Markram b Matt Henry 14
Rassie van der Dussen c&b Neil Wagner 45
Temba Bavuma c Tim Southee b Neil Wagner 23
Kyle Verreynne Not Out 136
Wiaan Mulder c Tom Blundell b Kyle Jamieson 35
Marco Jansen c Will Young b Colin de Grandhomme 9
Kagiso Rabada c Colin de Grandhomme b Matt Henry 47
Keshav Maharaj c Colin de Grandhomme b Kyle Jamieson 4
Lutho Sipamla Not Out 10
Extras 0b 5lb 2nb 0pen 3w 10
Total (100.0 overs) 354 decl
Fall of Wickets : 1-12 Erwee, 2-23 Elgar, 3-38 Markram, 4-103 van der Dussen, 5-114 Bavuma, 6-192 Mulder, 7-219 Jansen, 8-297 Rabada, 9-322 Maharaj

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Tim Southee 26 5 90 2 3.46
Matt Henry 24 5 81 2 3.38
Kyle Jamieson 21 2 81 2 3.86 3w 2nb
Neil Wagner 23 3 81 2 3.52
Colin de Grandhomme 6 2 16 1 2.67

New Zealand 2nd innings
Tom Latham c Rassie van der Dussen b Kagiso Rabada 1
Will Young c Temba Bavuma b Kagiso Rabada 0
Devon Conway lbw Lutho Sipamla 92
Henry Nicholls b Keshav Maharaj 7
Daryl Mitchell b Keshav Maharaj 24
Tom Blundell c Temba Bavuma b Marco Jansen 44
Colin de Grandhomme c Wiaan Mulder b Marco Jansen 18
Kyle Jamieson c Kagiso Rabada b Marco Jansen 12
Tim Southee c Lutho Sipamla b Kagiso Rabada 17
Neil Wagner Not Out 10
Matt Henry lbw Keshav Maharaj 0
Extras 0b 1lb 1nb 0pen 0w 2
Total (93.5 overs) 227 all out
Fall of Wickets : 1-1 Young, 2-6 Latham, 3-25 Nicholls, 4-81 Mitchell, 5-166 Conway, 6-187 Blundell, 7-188 de Grandhomme, 8-201 Jamieson, 9-220 Southee, 10-227 Henry

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Kagiso Rabada 19 4 46 3 2.42 1nb
Marco Jansen 23 6 63 3 2.74
Keshav Maharaj 31.5 9 75 3 2.36
Lutho Sipamla 14 5 29 1 2.07
Wiaan Mulder 6 1 13 0 2.17

Umpire Christopher Brown
Umpire Wayne Knights
Video Christopher Gaffaney
Match Referee Jeffrey Crowe
Date: 01/03/2022 05:31


Comments - share your knowledge and experience

Please note you must be a Maverick Insider to comment. Sign up here or sign in if you are already an Insider.

Everybody has an opinion but not everyone has the knowledge and the experience to contribute meaningfully to a discussion. That’s what we want from our members. Help us learn with your expertise and insights on articles that we publish. We encourage different, respectful viewpoints to further our understanding of the world. View our comments policy here.

No Comments, yet

Please peer review 3 community comments before your comment can be posted