First Thing, Daily Maverick's flagship newsletter

Join the 230 000 South Africans who read First Thing newsletter.

Premier Sihle Zikalala announces his KZN cabinet



Premier Sihle Zikalala announces his KZN cabinet

By News24
27 May 2019 0

Freshly-sworn in KwaZulu-Natal Premier Sihle Zikalala has announced his provincial cabinet for the next five-year term.

Around 200 guests, including former president Jacob Zuma, were present for Zikalala’s inauguration as premier on Monday in Pietermaritzburg, following the May 8 general elections.

The ANC retained the province, albeit with a significantly reduced majority – an almost 11% decline.

The 10 MECs to serve under Zikalala will be:

1. Agriculture and Rural Development: MEC Bongi Sithole-Moloi;

2. Arts and Culture, Sports and Recreation: MEC Hlengiwe Mavimbela;

3. Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: MEC Sipho Hlomuka;

4. Transport, Community Safety and Liaison: MEC Mxolisi Kaunda;

5. Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs: MEC Nomusa Dube-Mncube;

6. Education: MEC Kwazi Mshengu;

7. Health: MEC Nomagugu Simelane-Zulu;

8. Social Development: MEC Nonhlanhla Khoza;

9. Provincial Treasury: MEC Ravi Pillay;

10. Public Works: Peggy Nkonyeni.

Zuma makes appearance

A smiling Zuma was among the 200 guests who were invited to a smaller than usual swearing-in ceremony at the premier’s residence in Pietermaritzburg.

Some of the other high level guests such as Zuma were former transport minister Sbu Ndebele and Police Minister Bheki Cele.

Zuma was a no-show at President Cyril Ramaphosa’s inauguration over the weekend. DM


Please peer review 3 community comments before your comment can be posted