First Thing, Daily Maverick's flagship newsletter

Join the 230 000 South Africans who read First Thing newsletter.

We'd like our readers to start paying for Daily Maverick

More specifically, we'd like those who can afford to pay to start paying. What it comes down to is whether or not you value Daily Maverick. Think of us in terms of your daily cappuccino from your favourite coffee shop. It costs around R35. That’s R1,050 per month on frothy milk. Don’t get us wrong, we’re almost exclusively fuelled by coffee. BUT maybe R200 of that R1,050 could go to the journalism that’s fighting for the country?

We don’t dictate how much we’d like our readers to contribute. After all, how much you value our work is subjective (and frankly, every amount helps). At R200, you get it back in Uber Eats and ride vouchers every month, but that’s just a suggestion. A little less than a week’s worth of cappuccinos.

We can't survive on hope and our own determination. Our country is going to be considerably worse off if we don’t have a strong, sustainable news media. If you’re rejigging your budgets, and it comes to choosing between frothy milk and Daily Maverick, we hope you might reconsider that cappuccino.

We need your help. And we’re not ashamed to ask for it.

Our mission is to Defend Truth. Join Maverick Insider.

Support Daily Maverick→
Payment options

SA woman referee set to make history



SA woman referee set to make history

By News24
24 Nov 2017 0

Cape Town - Aimee Barrett-Theron has become the first woman to earn selection to SA Rugby’s Premier Panel of referees after she was promoted to the top tier of match officials, along with Cwengile “JD” Jadezweni, Stuart Berry and AJ Jacobs.

It means Barrett-Theron (30), who recently refereed the opening match of the Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland and the SA Rugby Under-20 Championship final in Welkom, will be in contention to referee matches in senior men’s competitions next year.

In addition to these promotions, SA Rugby also announced that Jaco van Heerden has hung up his whistle to focus on his career as an advocate.

Two other experienced match officials have also decided to retire from refereeing, but both Lourens van der Merwe and Pro Legoete will continue their careers as TMOs.

Banks Yantolo, SA Rugby’s Referee Manager, said the four referees promoted to the Premier Panel had earned their stripes and have what it takes to succeed at the top.

“Aimee, ‘JD’ and AJ have all delivered on the promise they’ve shown over the last couple of years, while Stuart has been around for a while and has performed at a consistently high level in recent times,” said Yantolo.

“All the referees on our Premier Panel have Test experience and they are wonderful ambassadors to South African rugby wherever in the world they go.

“They are rightly the cream of the crop here.

“I am also excited about the quality of match officials on our lower panels – many of these referees have the potential to make it all the way to the top.

“We know the National A Panel, as our next tier, will be pushing hard to get onto the Premier Panel, while it is very encouraging to welcome eight new inclusions onto the National B Panel from our Academy Squad. We are looking forward to an awesome season in 2018.”

SA Rugby Referee Panels for 2018:

Premier Panel: Quinton Immelman, Jaco Peyper, Rasta Rasivhenge, Egon Seconds, Marius van der Westhuizen, Stuart Berry, AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni, Aimee Barrett-Theron.

National A Panel: Ben Crouse, Stephan Geldenhuys, Ruhan Meiring, Paul Mente, Vusi Msibi, Jaco Pretorius, Archie Sehlako.

National B Panel: Jaco Kotze, Pieter Maritz, Mpho Matsaung, Sindile Ngcese, Christopher Allison, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Jabian Jeftha, Phumzile Mbewu, Naka Bulelani, Eduan Nel, Divan Uys, Rodney Boneparte, Ricus van der Hoven.

Women’s Panel: Siyanda Ketse, Maria Mabote, Le-Ann MacClune, Lusanda Mtiya, Ashleigh Murray, Bulela Qwane, Cameron Dyers.

Sevens Panel: Christopher Allison, Aimee Barrett-Theron, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Ben Crouse, Morne Ferreira, Rasta Rasivhenge.

TMO Panel: Christie du Preez, Johan Greeff, Marius Jonker, Joey Klaaste-Salmans, Shaun Veldsman, Willie Vos, JJ Wagner, Lourens van der Merwe, Pro Legoete.

Selectors: Banks Yantolo, Eugene Daniels, Dennis Immelman, Mark Lawrence, Balie Swart, Deon van Blommestein.

National Performance Reviewers: Jacques Hugo, Dennis Immelman, Thuso Mngqibisa, Willie Roos, Johann Alberts, Willie Hess, Dawie Oberholzer, Arthur Southgate. DM


Please peer review 3 community comments before your comment can be posted