Mario Vargas Llosa wins Nobel literature prize

By Andy Rice 7 October 2010

Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa was named as the 2010 Nobel literature laureate on Thursday afternoon. Ladbrokes had given him odds of 25/1 of winning the prize, so punters that backed him will certainly be able to afford a celebratory drink or three. Vargas Llosa is probably best known for his 1977 novel, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, but has written several other novels, as well as non-fiction and drama. He is also known for his journalism and essays, as well as his political ambitions. In 1991, Granta magazine published a personal account of his 1990 Peruvian presidential campaign called, appropriately enough, Vargas Llosa for President. Read more: Huffington Post


Support DAILY MAVERICK & get FREE UBER vouchers every month

An increasingly rare commodity, quality independent journalism costs money, though not nearly as much as its absence can cost global community. No country can live and prosper without truth - that's why it matters.

Every Daily Maverick article and every Scorpio exposé is proof of our dedication to this unshakeable mission. Investing in our news media is by far the most effective investment into South Africa's future.

You can support Independent and Investigative journalism by joining Maverick Insider. If you contribute R150 or more per month you will receive R100 back in UBER vouchers. EVERY MONTH until October 2019.

So, if you'd like to help and do something meaningful for yourself and your country, then sign up to become a Maverick Insider. Together we can Defend Truth.

Moyane, Inc

Nugent Commission final report recommends criminal prosecution and far reaching changes to restore SARS

By Marianne Thamm

"I feel like we should stop calling feminists 'feminists' and just start calling people who aren't feminist 'sexist' – and then everyone else is just human." ~ Maisie Williams