Eskom threatens to cut off Free State power over non-payment

By Andy Rice 7 July 2010

Power utility Eskom has warned 11 Free State municipalities, including Mangaung (Bloemfontein) that it will be forced to cut off their power supply if they have not paid their outstanding electricity bills by 20 July. The other municipalities that will be affected are Matjhabeng (Welkom), Moqhaka (Kroonstad), Ngwathe (Parys), Dihlabeng (Bethlehem), Naledi, Kopanong, Mohokare, Mafube, Masilonyana and Nala. Read more: Times Live


While we have your attention...

An increasingly rare commodity, quality independent journalism costs money - though not nearly as much as its absence.

Every article, every day, is our contribution to Defending Truth in South Africa. If you would like to join us on this mission, you could do much worse than support Daily Maverick's quest by becoming a Maverick Insider.

Click here to become a Maverick Insider and get a closer look at the Truth.


How the Guptas tore through red tape to hire Indian nationals illegally

By Jean le Roux for News24

There are no McDonald's in Ghana.