Gulf countries to form Gulf Monetary Council

By Daily Maverick Legacy 4 November 2009

So far, four Gulf countries, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain, have signed an accord to join forces in the so-called Gulf Monetary Council, which should, in time, lead to a single Gulf currency. The project could be of consequence for the rest of the world, especially if it attempts to displace the US dollar as the oil-pricing currency. But it is far from being an easy process so far. Because of the global downturn, Kuwait has already called for the council’s inception date to delayed, while Oman (because of its weak economy) and United Arab Emirates (because of disagreement over Saudi supremacy on the council) will not be joining the project at all. Read more: BBC News


While we have your attention...

An increasingly rare commodity, quality independent journalism costs money - though not nearly as much as its absence.

Every article, every day, is our contribution to Defending Truth in South Africa. If you would like to join us on this mission, you could do much worse than support Daily Maverick's quest by becoming a Maverick Insider.

Click here to become a Maverick Insider and get a closer look at the Truth.


SARS & Gartner – global advisory giant’s mysterious deal with Moyane’s friend follows a pattern of tender corruption

By Pauli Van Wyk

"We spend the first year of a child's life teaching it to walk and talk and the rest of its life to shut up and sit down. There's something wrong there." ~ Neil deGrasse Tyson